Wallis & Futuna Islands

Wallis and Futuna is a Polynesian French island territory in the South Pacific. It consists of two small island groups near Fiji and Samoa known as the Hoorn Islands and Wallis Islands. The village of Mata-Utu is the capital of the territory, located on Wallis Island.

Downtown Mata-Utu is dominated by the Matâ'Utu Cathedral, a French national monument. Within its vicinity is the palace of the King of Uvéa and near Mata-Utu are two important archaeological sites: Talietumu and Tonga Toto.

Things to See and Do

* Caves at Loka
* Lake Lalolalo – a crater lake on Wallis
* Talietumu – a restosred archaeological site
* To'oga Toto – remote ruins of Wallis
* Le Tamana

General Information

Cruise Season – Jan - Dec
Currency – CFP franc (XPF)
Language – French, Tahitian
Land Area – 247 km²
Population – 16,000 approx
Electricity – 2 angled flat pins and 1 round pin centred below Australian style
Time – GMT plus twelve hours
International Country Telephone Code – + 681

Port Location – The port of Mata-Utu is on Uvea. Leava (Sigave) is on Futuna.

Transport Links – Uvea and Futuna each have an airport. The only airline that flies to Wallis and Futuna is Aircalin.

Ports Overview

Find Cruises to this Port